1. Welcome to Degree-Gaming!
    Get full access to our forums which includes clan applications, reports and much more by signing up. You can sign in with your Steam account or through regular registration.

Messed up FPS.

Discussion in 'Technology' started by The Crow Scout, Sep 23, 2015.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. The Crow Scout

    The Crow Scout
    Banished

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    103
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +3 / -0
    I don't know what's wrong but my TF2 fps has been all fucked up. I was getting around 150 frames just last week but now my game is dropping to 30! I have an Intel Core i5 with Intel 4400 HD graphics (Hey it's not that bad) 6GB ram, and 1 TB hard drive. I know the hard drive probably plays no part in this.
     
  2. Essemm

    Essemm
    Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +18 / -0
    You need to see what's happening with the GPU. Might be thermal throttling.
     
  3. Rare

    Rare
    Management +
    Shop Staff   Coder  

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,283
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IFS Technical Consultant
    Ratings:
    +265 / -0
    ...Intel HD 4400...
    [​IMG]
    But seriously, could be another process in the background that might be prioritised over TF2. Don't forget to check your graphics settings in TF2 as well and look online for the best optimizations for that "GPU".
     
  4. The Crow Scout

    The Crow Scout
    Banished

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    103
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +3 / -0
    Well it recommends that I play on high settings. My family is only middle class so we can't afford the nicest things all the time. And I'm almost 16 so I'll get a job then. Anyways I'll check my background processes. I just got windows 10 recently as well.
     
  5. Essemm

    Essemm
    Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +18 / -0
    Yeah, you're not going to get good FPS on High. Maybe Medium with shadows off.
     
  6. The Crow Scout

    The Crow Scout
    Banished

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    103
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +3 / -0
    Why was I getting such high fps before?
     
  7. Essemm

    Essemm
    Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +18 / -0
    I imagine it had the settings set lower and then maybe set it to 'recommended' at some point later.
     
  8. The Crow Scout

    The Crow Scout
    Banished

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    103
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +3 / -0
    Oh I am so dumb...my computer was set to only use one of my cores and was on Power saving mode...I remember that I changed it during a long trip.
     
  9. Essemm

    Essemm
    Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    158
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +18 / -0
    That would also do it...